How Much Does a Pearl Necklace Cost?
Compare dated pearl necklace prices by pearl type, millimeter size, length and clasp material, with matched configurations, official sources and sample limits.
A useful pearl necklace price depends on the exact configuration. In Pearlpedia's October 21, 2026 sample, two white freshwater full-strand listings with 7.0–7.5mm pearls, 18-inch length and sterling-silver filigree clasps were USD 330 each; their 14K white-gold clasp variants were USD 540 each. These are retailer snapshots, not market averages or proof of equal pearl quality. Akoya, Tahitian, white and golden South Sea examples, other sizes and necklace constructions are separated below.
Source basis: Dated retailer listings; GIA quality context · View referencesPrices come from the dated retailer records linked below. GIA provides a framework for discussing pearl quality, not a price quotation or endorsement of this sample. These listing comparisons do not establish equivalent pearl quality, a market average or current availability.
Pearl necklace prices become useful when you know what is being priced. This guide organizes previously checked retailer listings into clearly specified examples so you can compare the pearl type, diameter, finished length and clasp material before deciding what to spend.
What the price sample covers
Prices checked October 21, 2026. This guide reuses that dated research; publishing it does not refresh stock or prices. The original audit began with 20 product listings from our Akoya necklace comparison and freshwater necklace comparison. Ten full-strand products provide 12 specified configurations, including two additional gold-clasp variants retained in the same audit. Two other designs are separated, and eight listings are excluded from the full-strand price groups.
The original 12 configurations form 10 groups. This expanded edition adds 8 Tahitian and South Sea products from 4 retailers, providing 9 exact configurations in 6 more groups. The guide now contains 18 full-strand products, 21 configurations and 16 descriptive groups. Five groups have two retailer observations each; the other eleven have one. The original eight exclusions and two other constructions remain separate. New product pages, specifications, USD offers and exact variant availability were checked on October 21, 2026; the original Akoya and freshwater evidence retains its earlier same-day check. We do not calculate a market average, a typical retail range or a quality-adjusted value ranking. This is a deliberately selected sample, not a random or exhaustive market survey. Retailer listings need not represent independent suppliers, and identical seller grade letters do not establish equal pearl quality.
| Pearl type | Full-strand configurations in this sample | What the coverage establishes |
|---|---|---|
| Akoya | 4 | Four individual configurations with different sizes, lengths or clasps; no repeated exact-specification group. |
| Freshwater | 8 | Six product listings, including two additional clasp variants; two descriptive groups have two retailer observations each. |
| Tahitian | 4 | Two round 8–10mm observations plus 18- and 20-inch baroque 10–12mm variants; these form three distinct groups. See the Tahitian guide. |
| South Sea | 5 | White round, white baroque and golden round examples remain separate in three groups; no South Sea market-wide price band. See the South Sea guide. |
Match the specification before comparing the price
Rows separate pearl type, stated diameter range, finished length, clasp material and full-strand construction, all priced in USD. When multiple listings share a row, their published clasp design and color must also match. The new Tahitian and South Sea groups additionally match stated pearl shape; round and baroque pearls are never pooled. A 44cm necklace keeps its stated unit and does not become an 18-inch quote. A listing whose clasp design is not established remains a standalone example and is never pooled with another unknown design. We keep gold-filled separate from solid gold, 14K separate from 18K, and white gold separate from yellow gold. A diameter interval must match exactly: 6.5–7.0mm does not become a 7.0–7.5mm example.
These groups match listing specifications, not measured quality. Surface, luster, matching, nacre and seller grading can still differ. GIA’s quality framework explains the gemological factors; it supplies no prices for this sample. Read our cross-retailer grading comparison before treating two AAA labels as equivalents.
All figures below are dated retailer prices before unverified shipping charges, taxes or import duties. Checkout, discount codes and return outcomes were not tested. An available status in the source snapshot is not a promise that an item is available now. A single observation is a price example, not a price range.
Akoya full-strand price examples
All rows below were checked October 21, 2026. Material refers to the clasp, not to a solid-gold necklace chain. Source links open the observed item or selected variant.
| Pearl size | Length | Clasp material / design | Color | Sample n | Observed USD price | Retailer and official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6.5–7mm | 16 inches | gold-filled / round | white | 1 | USD 1,369; one observation | PearlsOnly |
| 6.5–7mm | 18 inches | 14K white gold / ball | white | 1 | USD 1,910; one observation | Pearls of Joy |
| 7–7.5mm | 18 inches | 14K white gold / ball | white | 1 | USD 2,190; one observation | Pure Pearls |
| 7–7.5mm | 18 inches | 14K yellow gold / fishhook | white | 1 | USD 1,289; one observation | AKWAYA |
The PearlsOnly observation is its listed 16-inch base configuration with a gold-filled clasp; optional upgrades are extra. It is not an 18-inch solid-gold-clasp quote. The AKWAYA example is seller-listed AA, while the other Akoya examples are seller-listed AAA. Do not use these four different configurations to calculate an “Akoya average” or a quality winner.
Freshwater full-strand price examples
All rows below were checked October 21, 2026. Material refers to the clasp, not to a solid-gold necklace chain. Source links open the observed item or selected variant.
| Pearl size | Length | Clasp material / design | Color | Sample n | Observed USD price | Retailer and official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5.5–6mm | 16 inches | sterling silver / style not confirmed | white | 1 | USD 150; one observation | Premium Pearl |
| 7–7.5mm | 18 inches | 14K white gold / filigree | white | 2 | USD 540 each | Pure Pearls; Pearls of Joy |
| 7–7.5mm | 18 inches | sterling silver / filigree | white | 2 | USD 330 each | Pure Pearls; Pearls of Joy |
| 7.5–8mm | 16 inches | 14K white gold / style not confirmed | white | 1 | USD 375; one observation | House of Pearls |
| 7.5–8.5mm | 18 inches | 18K yellow gold / ball | multicolor | 1 | USD 1,548; one observation | PEARL-LANG |
| 8–9mm | 18 inches | 14K white gold / fishhook | white | 1 | USD 99; one observation | AKWAYA |
The 8–9mm AKWAYA example is described as semi-round; it does not establish a cheaper equivalent to a smaller, differently shaped strand. The PEARL-LANG example is multicolor and uses 18K yellow gold. Its color, size and metal differ from the white, silver-clasp examples.
Tahitian full-strand price examples
For a newer baroque comparison, see AKWAYA vs. The Pearl Source, Pure Pearls and Pearl Paradise, checked October 26, 2026. It compares selected 18-inch configurations and all 30 AKWAYA length-and-clasp options, and flags the supplied URL’s 10–13mm title versus its current 8–10mm product details. The October 21 examples below remain a separate dated sample.
All configurations below were checked October 21, 2026 against official specifications and the selected available variant. Prices are in USD and refer to the stated configuration, before unverified shipping, tax or duty. Materials describe the clasp.
| Pearl size / shape | Length | Clasp material / design | Color | Sample n | Observed USD price | Official source / seller grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8–10mm / round | 18 inches | 14K white gold / ball | black | 2 | USD 5,400 each | Pure Pearls — AAA; Pearls of Joy — AAA |
| 10–12mm / baroque | 18 inches | 14K yellow gold / fishhook | black | 1 | USD 399; one observation | AKWAYA — not stated in current description |
| 10–12mm / baroque | 20 inches | 14K yellow gold / fishhook | black | 1 | USD 439; one observation | AKWAYA — not stated in current description |
The 8–10mm round examples and the 10–12mm baroque examples differ in size, shape, clasp and seller claims. Their prices do not establish a bargain or a quality winner. The AKWAYA listing does not provide a letter grade in the checked description. Its exact 18-inch variant was USD 399 and its 20-inch variant USD 439: the USD 40 difference is that seller’s configuration difference at the check date, not a universal cost per inch.
South Sea full-strand price examples
All configurations below were checked October 21, 2026 against official specifications and the selected available variant. Prices are in USD and refer to the stated configuration, before unverified shipping, tax or duty. Materials describe the clasp.
| Pearl size / shape | Length | Clasp material / design | Color | Sample n | Observed USD price | Official source / seller grade |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12–15mm / round | 18 inches | 18K white gold / twist | white | 2 | USD 19,540 each | Pure Pearls — AAAA in specification table; Pearls of Joy — AAA in specification table |
| 10–12mm / round | 18 inches | 14K yellow gold / ball | golden | 2 | USD 10,020 each | Pure Pearls — AAA; Pearls of Joy — AAA |
| 9–12mm / baroque | 44 cm | 18K solid gold; color not specified / style not confirmed | white | 1 | USD 892; one observation | The South Sea Pearl — no letter grade stated |
White and golden South Sea pearls stay in separate groups. For the two 12–15mm white round listings, Pure Pearls’ specification table states AAAA while Pearls of Joy’s states AAA. The USD 19,540 quotes match descriptive dimensions, not a common grading scale or certified quality. The 9–12mm baroque example is a 44cm, 38-pearl necklace with an 18K solid-gold clasp; the checked description does not establish clasp color or design, so it remains a standalone example. Do not compare it as a cheaper equivalent of an 18-inch round strand.
These new rows are a selected set of retailer listings, not an independent survey of suppliers. Equal descriptions or prices across two shops do not establish independent sourcing, identical pearls or equivalent return terms. Official availability was observed at verification; stock and checkout totals can change.
What changes when you choose a gold clasp?
Two within-product comparisons in the retained audit hold the listed pearl size, 18-inch length and filigree clasp design constant:
| Retailer / white freshwater listing | Sterling-silver clasp | 14K white-gold clasp | Listed configuration difference | Source-check date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Pearls, 7.0–7.5mm, 18 inches | USD 330 | USD 540 | USD 210 | 2026-10-21 |
| Pearls of Joy, 7.0–7.5mm, 18 inches | USD 330 | USD 540 | USD 210 | 2026-10-21 |
This is the retailer’s price difference between those configurations at the check date. It is not the raw value of the gold, a universal gold-clasp surcharge or proof that the pearls in two independently fulfilled orders are identical. Both retailers showing the same difference does not establish the whole market’s pricing.
Keep other necklace constructions separate
The two examples below use different amounts of pearl and different supporting materials. They do not enter the full-strand groups, even if their headline prices are lower.
| Type / construction | Pearl specification | Length and material | Observed price | Official source / checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akoya / Station necklace | 13 Japanese Akoya pearls, 7.5–8.0mm; seller grade AAAA | 43cm chain; 18K yellow gold | USD 743 | House of Pearls / 2026-10-21 |
| Freshwater / Single-pearl necklace | One oval 9mm freshwater pearl; white selected | 17-inch silver-color seed beads; magnetic clasp | USD 45 | The Freshwater Pearl Company / 2026-10-21 |
Silver-color seed beads do not establish sterling-silver metal. A station design with 13 pearls and an 18K chain is not a lower-priced version of a full strand merely because both contain Akoya pearls. Our construction schematic illustrates the distinction.
Which source listings are excluded, and why?
These eight source products remain traceable but contribute no value to the full-strand price groups. Unknown details are not treated as zero prices or low quality.
| Type / retailer | Reason for exclusion | Official source / access checked |
|---|---|---|
| Akoya / The Pearl Source | The price was not tied to a confirmed length and clasp selection. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Akoya / Pearl Paradise | Price and live stock were not reconfirmed; only indexed official specifications were available. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Akoya / Premium Pearl | Displayed base price was not resolved to one exact length and clasp configuration. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Akoya / MIKIMOTO | The item length was not recovered, so the listed price cannot enter a length-matched group. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Akoya / WSP | The variant was unavailable and priced in JPY; no currency conversion or restock price is assumed. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Freshwater / The Pearl Source | The listing price was not resolved to a selected length and clasp. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Freshwater / Pearl Paradise | Price and live stock were not reconfirmed; only indexed official specifications were available. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
| Freshwater / MMK Pearls | The current strand description conflicts with legacy double-strand wording in the URL; construction needs confirmation for strict matching. | Product page / 2026-10-21 |
For the two Pearl Paradise listings, the October 21 date records the research access check. Their specifications came from indexed official text after direct retrieval was restricted; it is not a confirmation of a current price or stock. The WSP example is an unavailable JPY listing, so we neither mix its currency into the USD groups nor assume an exchange rate. Other unresolved configurations can enter a later edition only after the missing dimensions and applicable price are checked.
How to use this guide when setting a budget
- Choose the pearl type and construction you actually want. Start with the full-strand tables only if you want a continuous strand.
- Choose diameter and finished length. A smaller pearl or shorter strand is a different specification, not automatically a bargain version of a larger one.
- Decide which clasp metal and style matter to you. Keep silver, gold-filled, 14K and 18K options distinct.
- Read the seller’s grading definitions, ask for comparable evidence of the actual pearls, and keep missing details as unknown.
- Open the exact linked configuration and obtain a current total including shipping, taxes and duties. Confirm the return deadline and any customization exclusions before ordering.
A newly found lower price is a reason to compare the details, not by itself proof of better value. This guide does not appraise inherited or secondhand pearls and does not estimate resale or investment value.
Sources, dates and downloadable research
Download the expanded price sample, dimensions and group membership (JSON). It contains the unchanged original sample plus 8 newly checked products and 9 exact Tahitian and South Sea configurations, official variant sources, verification timestamps and evidence checksums. The original 20-product price sample retains the initial inclusion decisions and two additional freshwater clasp variants. The underlying October 21 audit retains the seller claims and access limitations.
Price evidence comes from retailer pages and their variant records, not from GIA. Pearlpedia has not physically inspected these necklaces, tested checkout or independently certified the pearls. Sample selection is editorial and limited to the preceding audit and the dated Tahitian/South Sea expansion; these figures do not describe every seller, country, pearl type or price tier. See our methodology and commercial disclosure for the broader research standards.
Continue learning
Price research and primary sources
- Pearlpedia: Dated source audit: 20 necklace listings
- Pearlpedia: Price sample, inclusion decisions and grouping method
- GIA: Pearl Quality Factors
- Pure Pearls: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Pearls of Joy: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- AKWAYA: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- PearlsOnly: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Pure Pearls: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Pearls of Joy: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- AKWAYA: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- House of Pearls: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Premium Pearl: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- PEARL-LANG: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Pure Pearls: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Pearls of Joy: Official necklace configuration — price checked October 21, 2026
- Pearlpedia: Expanded price sample: Tahitian and South Sea configurations
- Pure Pearls: Official tahitian configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- Pearls of Joy: Official tahitian configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- AKWAYA: Official tahitian configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- AKWAYA: Official tahitian configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- Pure Pearls: Official south-sea configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- Pearls of Joy: Official south-sea configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- Pure Pearls: Official south-sea configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- Pearls of Joy: Official south-sea configuration — checked October 21, 2026
- The South Sea Pearl: Official south-sea configuration — checked October 21, 2026